City Paper: Meursault and Me

I was asked by Joe Macleod, the art director at City Paper, to do an illustration for City Paper’s Big Books Issue. I didn’t have time to work on a sketch before starting the final because I am in the process of moving out of my house and into my in-laws’ house for the next two years. I have been packing, painting, unpacking, packing, repairing, unpacking my house for a solid month now. I am mentally and physically exhausted. I ended up finishing the illustration at 5:30am on Tuesday morning, after having started it at 9:30pm Monday night.

My original idea for the final piece was to have the silhouette character sort of peeling off of the page, breaking away, but in the end it was going to take more time than I had. I started to execute the idea but I was having trouble making the type covered figure stand out from the type filled page. Instead, I decided to separate the figure from the book, which made for a better composition that I am extremely happy with.

Read the article HERE.

Leave a Reply

